Local and regional SMRT grants

Explore our Local SMRT Grants and submit your proposal below

Tertiary hero overlay
Sprite decoration

2021 PacBio APAC rare + inherited disease SMRT grant

If you think PacBio HiFi reads are suitable for your rare & inherited diseases genomics research, submit your 300 word SMRT grant application today for a chance to win free sequencing to start your scientific discovery journey.

Apply for for a chance to win:

  • SMRTbell library construction (up to FOUR)
  • PacBio sequencing (up to EIGHT 8M SMRT Cells)
  • Preliminary bioinformatic analysis

Submission deadline is September 16, 2021.

Sequencing and co-sponsorship by TGIA from Taiwan

Apply now

Sprite decoration

Upcoming local + regional SMRT grant programs

Check back for more local and regional SMRT Grants opening soon!

Sprite decoration

2020 Local and Regional SMRT Grant Winners

The University of Queensland – School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences

Awarded to Professor Glenn King at the Institute for Molecular Bioscience for his project “‘Deadly Genes: Exploring the Genome of the lethal Australian Box Jellyfish”. This project will use HiFi sequencing on the PacBio Sequel II System to provide a foundational resource for the global research community to resolve the function of individual venom components, develop improved antivenoms and/or therapeutic adjuncts. This will also help in better understanding the evolution of jellyfish and, more broadly, related cnidarians such as corals and sea anemones.

The University of Tokyo – Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology

Awarded to Dr. Aya Nonaka at the Genome Science Laboratory for her project “Involvement of isoform genes in heterogeneous alpha-fetoprotein producing gastric cancer (AFPGC)”, which will include single-cell Iso-Seq analysis of AFPGC organoids using a PacBio Sequel II System to identify the contribution of isoforms to the differentiation of AFPGC.

Sprite decoration

2019 Local SMRT grant winners

NYU Langone Health – Genome Technology Center

Awarded to Dr. Ken Cadwell at the Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine for his project “Whole genome sequencing of helminth-associated Clostridia species” and Dr. Ralf Duerr at the Department of Pathology for his project “Unraveling functional HIV-1 sequence marks that are associated with beneficial disease parameters using SMRT Sequencing.”

University of Wisconsin-Madison – UWBC DNA Sequencing Facility

Awarded to Dr. Linda E. Graham at the Department of Botany for her project “Long-read shotgun metagenomic analysis of a rare plant key to understanding plant microbiome evolution and conservation of biodiversity on tribal land” and Dr. Steven Baker at the Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology for his project “High-resolution analysis of immune-activated alternative splicing.”

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory – Next Generation Genomics Core

Awarded to Dr. Quan Long of the University of Calgary in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology for his project “Analyzing within-host evolution of HIV.”

McMaster University – McMaster Genome Facility

Awarded to Dr. Hindra Hindra of Dr. Marie Elliot’s lab at the Department of Biology and the Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Infectious Disease Research at McMaster University for his project “Unlocking the treasure chest: New antibiotic discovery and characterization using PacBio-enabled genome sequences.”

Virginia Commonwealth University – VCU Genomics Core

Awarded to Dr. Michael McVoy at the Department of Pediatrics, Division of Infectious Diseases for his project “In Vitro Evolution of Human Cytomegalovirus” and Dr. Robin Chan of the Center for Biomarker Research and Precision Medicine for her project “DNA Methylation (m6dA) in the Human Brain.”

Sprite decoration

2018 Local SMRT grant winners

University of Oregon – Genomics & Cell Characterization Core Facility (GC3F)

Awarded to Susie Bassham from the Cresko Lab for her project “Play it Again, Sam: Exploring the Role of Structural Variant in Repeated, Rapid, Parallel Evolution.”

University of California Irvine – UCI Genomics High-Throughput Facility (GHTF)

Awarded to Dr. Feng Qiao for his project “Revolutionize Telomere Biology in a SMRT Way” and Dr. Anand Ganesan and Jessica Flesher for their work studying wildtype and model knockout isoforms of MITF-A and MITF-M in rats.

University of Georgia – Georgia Genomics and Bioinformatics Core (GGBC)

Awarded to Emily Loring Dittmar for her project “Comparative Genomics of the Major Filamentous Pathogens of Sunflower.”

Talk with an expert

If you have a question, need to check the status of an order, or are interested in purchasing an instrument, we're here to help.